Sunday, February 8, 2015

Can a pitcher switch hands during an at bat?




Can a pitcher switch hands in the MLB?


Yes, a ambidextrous pitcher can switch hands in the pros, but only one time for each batter.

Read about the Pat Venditte Rule

"Pitcher must visually indicate which way he will pitch...pitcher must throw one pitch to the batter before any "switch" by either player is allowed...afterwards each may switch once per at bat"

Can a high school pitcher switch hands?


No, not in High School according to the HFHS rules. They have to pitch only from one side for each batter, but they can switch hands between batters. High School Rule for Switch Pitchers

"If a pitcher is ambidextrous, the umpire shall require the pitcher to face a batter as either a left-handed pitcher or a right-handed pitcher, but not both."


Can a youth pitcher switch hands?


Maybe, but it's not the best strategy.

Young pitchers typically don't get the proper warmup with both hands before taking the mound. There is rarely an advantage to switching hands between batters in youth leagues, especially since the pitcher needs to maintain a rhythm in order to throw strikes. Switching throwing arms after three innings is a better option - if there is enough time to warm-up.


See: Switch Pitching Rules


No comments:

Post a Comment